Find your purpose…

How long do you think it took this elephant to find this watering hole and cool his/her body off?. Maybe it took two seconds or maybe it even took two weeks. I’ll leave you with this question: Have you given up on finding your true purpose in life or are you searching for that watering hole that will replenish your thirst and give you the same satisfaction as the elephant in this image. If so I applaud and encourage you to keep going.

Finding my purpose

A wise man once said that: If you want to find your purpose in life, find your wound- Rick Warren. I have come to learn that this statement fits my journey on finding my purpose like a glove. When I was around 2 years old my parents got separated and I went to live with grandparents. I never really pondered on why they split or if I was possibly the cause of it like many kids assume when their parents separate. I never did this because my grandparents created a safe and loving home for me and that thought just never crossed my mind.

I got the odd questions and uncomfortable looks and stares at parent conferences and sports days when only one of my parents would show up or they would both be there standing at a distance from each other. Later in my teens did I really start ”acting up” or being a rebel as they would say. I began hating my parents and demanding answers, it was as if only now was I beginning to take notice of how this was controlling and impacting my life. I feel like this impacted me the worst through my high school years because it was as if I was just drifting through my school days and besides the fact that I genuinely hated school I just felt this deep hatred and anger that was always at the back of my mind waiting to lash out.

But as time went on I realized that I could not live like this forever. I had to address the WOUND. I started becoming actively involved in sports and cultural activities. Apart from all that I went to see a life coach and that changed my life forever. We did multiple activities and we went back into my childhood and younger days and all the trauma that I had experienced which could block me from reaching my potential, my true purpose. It was here where I underwent tests and assessments that revealed that I was a helper and that I was deep and sensitive and that these were my strengths all along.

It was here when I realized that I wanted to pursue psychology. I wanted to help others through the same or even worse trauma that I had experienced and I wanted to give people hope and make them happy again, make them want to live again and be the best version of themselves. The moral of this story is to never ever settle for less, never let anything block you from achieving your purpose, and most importantly have those uncomfortable and difficult talks, set yourself free from the trauma and hurt that encompasses your soul and mind.

Remember that nothing is too small or too large to overcome or fix. And remember that if something has hurt you deeply or has traumatized you it is never too late to bring it up and heal. Take this from someone who knows that trauma can manifest in you and break you and leave you wounded for the rest of your life, worst of all it could block you from being your true self and reaching your true potential and you wouldn’t want to live with those regrets of not fixing your wound now would you?.

I hope all of you are searching for your own watering hole and I hope that you find absolute joy and happiness when you look upon the horizon and you find what you have been searching for.

YOUR FAVORITE BLOGGER xx

12 thoughts on “Find your purpose…

Add yours

    1. Thanks so much Mae♥️ it means a lot to me.. I appreciate that you took the time to respond and give me feedback, all the best for your future and your blogs
      Lots of love xx

      Like

  1. I love this! It’s so refreshing to hear your side of the story. We all need to be reminded every now and then that we aren’t in this alone, we are all going through the same struggles. 🙂 Hope you’re doing well!

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started